Follow Us

John Mayer Live Album - Where the Light Is

Where the Light Is (2008)
John Mayer Live Album - Where the Light Is (2008)

Where the Light Is: John Mayer Live in Los Angeles, commonly referred to as Where the Light Is, is a live album and concert film by American blues-rock musician John Mayer. Released on July 1, 2008, the album documents Mayer's performance at the Nokia Theatre at L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California on December 8, 2007, during the promotional tour for his 2006 third studio album Continuum. The concert in question, which was for the Annual John Mayer Holiday Charity Revue, featured three separate performances: the first an acoustic set by Mayer alone, the second with the John Mayer Trio, and the third with Mayer's regular touring band. The title of the album is taken from a line in the song "Gravity", which was released as the second single from Continuum on January 31, 2007. Where the Light Is was released in a number of formats, including, for the audio album, Compact Disc, LP album and digital download; and, for the video album, DVD and Blu-ray Disc; as well as a 2CD+DVD set. His famous live acoustic cover of "Free Fallin'," originally by Tom Petty, from this album was released as a single and met with wide critical acclaim.  The songs "No Such Thing" and "Bigger Than My Body" were played on the evening but did not make it to the DVD release for unknown reasons.

Track Listing

Disc One: John Mayer Acoustic Set

1. "Neon"
2. "Stop This Train"
3. "In Your Atmosphere (LA Song)"
4. "Daughters"
5. "Free Fallin'"

Disc One: John Mayer Trio Set

6. "Everyday I Have the Blues"
7. "Wait Until Tomorrow"
8. "Who Did You Think I Was"
9. "Come When I Call"
10. "Good Love Is on the Way"
11. "Out of My Mind"
12. "Vultures"
13. "Bold as Love"

Disc two: John Mayer Band Set

1. "Waiting on the World to Change"
2. "Slow Dancing in a Burning Room"
3. "Why Georgia"
4. "The Heart of Life / In Repair"
5. "I Don't Need No Doctor"
6. "I've Got Dreams to Remember (Otis Redding cover) / Gravity"
7. "I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)"
8. "Belief"
9. "I'm Gonna Find Another You"